Seasons Change

Though the music changes
And the songs we sing 
We still lift our praises to our loving God and King

Though the seasons change
Your love remains
Your love remains

Lord you’ve been faithful to plant the seeds
And you will be faithful to always send your rain

Though the seasons change
Your love remains
Your love remains

When we were far apart 
You came running with open arms
When we were far apart
You came running with open arms
When we were far apart
You came running with open arms

I love writing on music…

it’s one of my favorite ways to connect with the Lord. And I know it’s a very important way to connect with us for Him, as well. How many times in the Bible are we told to sing? I don’t know exactly… but it’s a lot. Music is a walk down a pathway of God- designed joy, and it NEVER gets old! I mean, ever since I can remember, worship music has been a huge joy for me. I think my oldest memory I can recall, was me, about kindergarten aged, playing my cousin’s worship album over and over again in my hand-held CD player, in front of the mirror in my room, headphones on, door locked, (which annoyed my parents a bit, ahah!) and just watching myself sing to the music like I was leading worship at church. Sometimes I’d do it just for fun, but also I would do it when I was sad, or scared, or angry. At the time I didn’t quite understand how singing to the Lord was actually a powerful personal thing. That when I was singing those words, straight from scripture, the living word of God, that the Holy Spirit was sitting right with me in my room. That kinda gives me chills, just how long the Lord has really been there, right beside me, protecting me, and just hanging out with me in joy. Watching every step I’ve taken, every turning point in my life, season I’ve been through, and every season I will go through. Like… wow. His love has remained constant, these nearly 20 years of life I’ve had. I love this song, because it’s so simple but powerful and beautiful.

First a declaration, that I will always still lift my praises to my loving God and King. Even thought the music I listen to changes, and I may not always be in the car jamming & singing to Christian music, my voice will be forever reserved for true praise to only Jesus. A statement basically saying no matter what, I will stay lifting praises to God. Simple.

“Though the seasons change…” I love this because it makes me think of seasons of life, as well as seasons of Earth. I just got back from a trip to Nashville, and Tennessee was still filled with the beautiful colors of fall. I mean I was having a blast just looking out the window in car rides, and seeing the vibrant signs of a season changed. I was just getting this elevated feeling of awe, of how another season on Earth has gone by, and God was the master designer behind all of it.  When I look at myself there is also vibrant signs of seasons that have changed in my life. Things that have come and gone, but God remained through. Things that have alternated, but God stayed the same through. Things change, God doesn’t. I will love to tell my testimony clearer one day, give more detailed examples of how God has remained steady in my life. But I think if you know someone and you know God, you can see how the Lord has remained faithful to them in the little things, because He does it in amazing and apparent ways. Now, if you don’t really know me, here’s a little example of how God has remained steady through my seasons and showed constant and true love through all things… I, myself, know I have a purpose and a future. That might not seem incredible, but it is…. how many of us feel lost and unsure of our purpose at some time in our life? …… yeah, all of us. Now because I know I have purpose and a future doesn’t mean I don’t have fears or insecurities anymore, it just means that I know through every future season and change in my life, my God-given purpose remains the same because the Lord designed it for me, in me, in His Image. He’s going to be there always, and I know that now. Simple. “…..Your love remains.”

God has been faithful to continue to plant His seeds here on Earth. I see that clearly in ANYTHING good. And the proof of His rain, is when anything else good continues to sprout around me. This lyric in the song is so powerful. I could write an entire other blog on it, “Lord you’ve been faithful to plant the seeds, And you will be faithful to always send your rain.” I want you to ask yourself, what is the first “seed” you can think of that the Lord has planted? I hope it’s yourself. We are all seeds that God has planted. He sends His showers to let us grow, and we grow into His precious fruit. His word is the rain.         James 5:7-8 “Be patient, therefor, brothers, until the coming of the Lord. See how the farmer waits for the precious fruit of the earth, being patient about it, until it receives the early and the late rains. You also be patient. Establish your hearts, for the coming of the Lord is at hand.”                                                                                                                               God is the farmer, He has planted His seeds, and He is patiently waiting for the fruit. He is being consistent, waiting for us to grow,  And He will send His rains, this He promises. God is coming for His children. Simple.

Lastly, “when we were far apart, You came running with open arms.” When a season in our life comes, that we run away from the Lord, He will always come running to us. In the seasons I was so undeserving of His love, He threw it at me anyway. Not just a simple favor, He genuinely wanted to run after me and openly and genuinely give me His love. Obviously, this lyric reminds me of the story of the Prodigal Son. If you haven’t read that story in the Bible yet, do it. When I am so undeserving, and seem so far from God, He chases after me, he remains constant, persistent, and patient, and His love remains. Simple.

 

Listen to “Seasons Change” by United Pursuit, Here!

Leave a comment